Yamas and Niyamas and life….

I have recently completed a yoga philosophy course, in which i learnt and explored the eight limbs of Ashtanga yoga by Patanjali. The first two limbs are called Yama and Niyama. They detail ten commandments on how to live life and respect not only the people around you and the world but also how you should respect and honour yourself too.

When I learnt about the Yamas and Niyamas and started to try and bring them into my life and practice, this is the moment that yoga became special to me and a way of life…

I have wrote a few brief notes on what I have learnt so far and how I try to live by the them. Please follow the links below to my journal.

Yamas, the first limb of ashtanga yoga
Niyamas, The second limb of ashtanga yoga


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s